Hostile Terrain 94: Border South Screening

  • Friday, September 25, 2020 • 3:00 pm

Courtesy of Hostile Terrain 94 and the Undocumented Migrant Project, Border South will be available for screening for 24 hours from September 24 at 3pm CDT to September 25 at 3pm CDT (1pm PST).

There will be a live Q&A with director Raúl O. Paz Pastrana and Jason De León at 4pm CDT on the 25th. Register here to participate in the live Q&A on Zoom (limited to 300 participants). Otherwise, watch the live stream on Facebook here.

To access the film during the 24 hours, use the appropriate link and password below:

Film Synopsis:

To stem the immigration tide, Mexico and the U.S. collaborate to crack down on migrants, forcing them into ever more dangerous territory.

Every year hundreds of thousands of migrants make their way along the trail running from southern Mexico to the US border. Gustavo’s gunshot wounds from Mexican police, which have achieved abundant press attention, might just earn him a ticket out of Nicaragua. Meanwhile anthropologist Jason painstakingly collects the trail’s remains, which have their own stories to tell. Fragmented stories from Hondurans crossing through southern Mexico assemble a vivid portrait of the thousands of immigrants who disappear along the trail. Border South reveals the immigrants’ resilience, ingenuity, and humor as it exposes a global migration system that renders human beings invisible in life as well as death.

View campus maps, directions and parking info