Aaron Diehl, piano

  • Friday, January 31, 2020 • 7:30 pm
  • E. Desmond Lee Concert Hall, 560 Music Center

A 32-year-old classically trained pianist and composer, Aaron Diehl has made an indelible mark on the jazz world over the last 15 years. Showing an affinity for early jazz and mid-20th century “third-stream” music, his latest evolution comes as he begins to tackle modern classical works, performing works by George Gershwin with the New York Philharmonic, Cleveland Orchestra and LA Philharmonic in the last year alone.

Diehl has collaborated with living masters ranging from from NEA Jazz Master Benny Golson to 20th century classical titan Philip Glass, while establishing himself as one of the preeminent interpreters of the Great American Songbook in his own trio and with the vocalist Cécile McLorin Salvant.

Critics from The New York Times jazz critics have have extolled Mr. Diehl’s “melodic precision, harmonic erudition, and elegant restraint,” while the same paper’s classical critics have noted, “Mr. Diehl play[s] magnificently.” His meticulously conceived performances, collaborations, and compositions are refreshing as his highly personal aesthetic spearheads a union of tradition and original artistry, while bounding ahead on an uncharted course.

To purchase tickets click here.

Aaron Diehl’s performance at Washington University has been made possible through the generosity of Stacey Smith and Richard Katz.

Yancey Special by JIMMY YANCEY

Piano Blues No. 4 from Four Piano Blues by AARON COPLAND
John Kirkpatrick – With Bounce


Original Jelly Roll Blues by JELLY ROLL MORTON



Viper’s Drag by FATS WALLER

Carolina Shout by JAMES P. JOHNSON

Etudes by DICK HYMAN
1. Azalea Rag (dedicated to Scott Joplin)
2. Decatur Stomp (dedicated to Jelly Roll Morton)
3. Cuttin’ Loose (dedicated to James P. Johnson)
4. Struttin’ on a Sunny Day (dedicated to Earl Hines)
5. Ivory Strides (dedicated to Fats Waller)
6. Pass It Along (dedicated to Teddy Wilson)
7. South Side Boogy (dedicated to Jimmy Yancey, Albert Ammons, and Meade “Lux” Lewis)
8. Ocean Languor (dedicated to Duke Ellington)
9. Onyx Mood (dedicated to Art Tatum)
10. Bouncing in F Minor (dedicated to Erroll Garner)
11. Bird in the Roost (dedicated to Bud Powell)
12. Deep Grrove (dedicated to Oscar Peterson)
13. Roses and Cream (dedicated to George Shearing)
14. Time Play (dedicated to Dave Brubeck)
15. Passage (dedicated to Bill Evans)

New World A-Comin’ by DUKE ELLINGTON

View campus maps, directions and parking info